Province annouce appointment to manitoba public insurance board

board manitoba

Two new members have been appointed to the Manitoba Public Insurance (MPI) board of directors, Crown Services Minister Colleen Mayer announced today.

“MPI is committed to exceptional coverage and service, affordable rates and safer roads through public auto insurance,” said Mayer. “The board of directors provides strategic oversight to the corporation and we are pleased to appoint these outstanding individuals who will continue this great work.”

The two new MPI board members are:
• Carolyn Halbert (Lac du Bonnet) is the former deputy registrar of motor vehicles, where she was responsible for the management of the five major driver safety areas of Manitoba. She represented driver safety on the Department of Justice’s Impaired Driver Initiatives Committee, as well as serving as deputy chair of the Road Safety Research Committee of the Canadian Council of Motor Transport Administrators.
• Grant Stefanson (Winnipeg) is a partner with MLT Aikins, and practises civil litigation, business law, Aboriginal and employment law. He has appeared in all levels of court in Manitoba, the Tax Court of Canada, the Federal Court, as well as before numerous boards and tribunals including the Manitoba Labour Board and the Board of Revision. He has lectured for the Community Legal Education Association in Winnipeg and the Advocacy Program at the University of Manitoba law school. He is also the past chair of the Civil Litigation Section of the Manitoba Bar Association; past president, Manitoba Law Students Association; former director of the Manitoba Law Foundation and the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra; and current president of the Icelandic Festival of Manitoba.

Three reappointments were also announced:
• Daniel Bubis (Winnipeg) is the retired president, chief investment officer and founder of Tetrem Capital Management. Prior to founding Tetrem in 2004, he was the chief investment officer at Assante Asset Management Ltd., where he oversaw all investment management functions. He holds an honours business administration degree from the University of Western Ontario and holds a chartered financial analyst designation. He sits on the University of Winnipeg Foundation board of directors and is also on the Investment Committee for Canadian Friends of the Hebrew University
• Edna Nabess (Winnipeg) is a community and business leader who created two local businesses in The Pas and Winnipeg specializing in moccasins, clothing, jewelry and ornaments. Nabess is a member of the Mathias Colomb Cree Nation and a mentor to other women in her community, passing on her traditional skills and knowledge.
• Valerie Wowryk (St. Andrews) is a chartered financial analyst (CFA) and a past-president of the CFA Winnipeg. She is a director and portfolio manager with Richardson GMP and has more than 30 years of experience in investment oversight and guidance to a diverse client base.

The minister thanked outgoing board members for their service.